Wednesday October 22, 2014
Age of Consent Questions for washington
Q&A on statutory rape laws, age of consent laws, sexual assault laws for washington. Ask your Question
Page 1 of 2 | Next >>
If i am dating a 14 yr old girl not 15 til august and i am 17 about to turn 18 in about 3 months, is it against the law for us to date or be sexually active at all considering that we are both girls?
In the State of Washington, with consideration for the age difference between both girls, the legal age of consent to have sexual contact is 16. This will apply to homosexual or heterosexual relationships.
So I am 19 and my girlfriend is 15. I live in Oregon and she lives in Washington. When can she legally consent to having sex? is it 16 or 18? and me living in Oregon does that play a part in anything?
No matter your place of residence, when you are in Oregon, you are held accountable to Oregon laws. When you are in Washington, you are held accountable to Washington law. In Oregon or Washington, a 19 year old can be at risk for criminal prosecution if sexually involved with a 15 year old minor. In Oregon the age of consent to have sexual contact is 18. In Washington the age of consent to have sexual contact is 16 or 18. It is 18 if the acting adult is a foster parent, school teacher or school administration employee with authority over the student; or, the adult is 60 months or more older than the 16 or 17 year old.
We are the parents of a 16 year old girl that wants to date a 19 year old boy. We don't want them to date and we just found out that they have been sneaking around and lying to us for the last 6 months, dating anyway. We have told them that they cannot see each other anymore and our 16 year old has been grounded. Do we have the right to keep them apart, or does state law say they can choose because she is 16. Can we file charges against him if they keep trying to date?
In the State of Washington under most circumstances, it would NOT be a criminal sexual offense for a 19 year old to be engaged in a sexual relationship with a 16 year old minor (unless this is a State employee in the educational or correctional system.) The legal age of consent in Washington is 16. That said, this does not mean the 19 year old could not be held legally accountable for other activities and influences over the 16 year old minor. The parents have full legal authority over the minor's activities; the 19 year old (as a legal adult) has NO legal rights to override the authority of the parents. As parents of the 16 year old, you are legally responsible for the care, welfare and control of your minor child until she reaches the age of 18. If the 19 year old puts your minor child "at risk" there are other legal actions that may be initiated to prevent contact even if the minor resists or does not cooperate. What does "At Risk" mean? Generally speaking, if the 19 year old is contributing to the 16 year old's delinquency by encouraging destructive or unlawful behavior such as, truancy, running away, alcohol use, cigarettes, drug use, sexual exploitation, prostitution, etc... any of this, it should be reported to police and if the behavior continues, there may be sufficient grounds to request a restraining or protective order against the 19 year old, which would make it "illegal" for him to have contact with her. Generally, violation of a court order means jail time. These are things that are under the control of local law enforcement and often subject to available city/county resources rather than state resources. You would need to contact your local district attorney or police to understand what actions can be taken immediately to prevent escalation or further risk to the minor. It may be wise to seek legal representation in the matter.
at what age can a young male in washington state legally give his consent to engage in sexuall activities?
In most situations, the age is 16; Special Circumstance: In Washington the age of consent changes to 18 if the adult perpetrating the sexual relationship is in a position of control or authority over the minor, or a public employee at least 48 months older than the minor; such as a teacher, or employer.
can a family member send my boyfriend to jail for statutory rape if he is only 33 months older then me if I was pregnant? When we had sex it was consensual?
Yes, a family member or anyone can file a complaint if they think a crime has been committed. If he is 17 or 18 and is engaged in a sexual relationship with a minor under the age of 16, he can be arrested and face charges. In the state of Washington, a minor is not legally capable of consensual sexual contact with another until they are 16 years of age or older. In other words, it doesn't matter if a 14 year old consents to a sexual act; the law says they can not. This means that the 17 or 18 year old could be in trouble legally.
My boyfriend and I were naked because we were going to have sex and the cops came. there was no proof that we were going to have sex so no charges were pressed, but there is a warning out. Can we legally date? or do we have to wait until im 16? Question Revisions: based on information from email correspondence: "The 18 year old in this matter has been instructed by a judge not to see the minor and has been issued a warning instead of facing criminal charges."
See revision below.
Can you charge a 17 year old with statutory rape if he has consentual sex with a 14 year old?
Rape of a child in the third degree.(1) A person is guilty of rape of a child in the third degree when the person has sexual intercourse with another who is at least fourteen years old but less than sixteen years old and not married to the perpetrator and the perpetrator is at least forty-eight months older than the victim. (2) Rape of a child in the third degree is a class C felony. Unless the 17 year old is 48 months older than the victim, the situation you describe does not violate the sexual offense statute in the state of Washington.
I'm understanding that sexual activity between a person over 18 and a person under 16 is considered statutory rape in the state of Washington. What I haven't found the answer to is if kissing is considered sexual activity? Is there a certain point it becomes illegal or does the state consider any lip connection sexual activity?
Sexual Offense definitions under Washington state criminal code could be considered "broad", especially the term "sexual contact". Ultimately, this type of ruling would have to be based on a judges interpretation and would likely be determined on a case by case basis.
RCW 9A.44.010 Definitions.(1) "Sexual intercourse" (a) has its ordinary meaning and occurs upon any penetration, however slight, and (b) Also means any penetration of the vagina or anus however slight, by an object, when committed on one person by another, whether such persons are of the same or opposite sex, except when such penetration is accomplished for medically recognized treatment or diagnostic purposes, and (c) Also means any act of sexual contact between persons involving the sex organs of one person and the mouth or anus of another whether such persons are of the same or opposite sex. (2) "Sexual contact" means any touching of the sexual or other intimate parts of a person done for the purpose of gratifying sexual desire of either party or a third party.
what if both sets of parents know that two people are having sex at different ages, but they are fine with it because they practice safe sex with condoms? can the older of the two still be placed in prison even if the parents do not wish they be?
A parent does not have legal authority to give consent to a minor child to violate state laws. In fact, a parent can be found in violation of state law if they are condoning or encouraging a minor to have illegal sexual relations. The statutory rape laws are just like all other state laws. If you violate them and get caught, you will be prosecuted and a parents consent will not stop the prosecution.
I have been talking to a guy that just turned 18 and i am 16. Is it illegal for him to dat me or have sexual contact with me since i am not 18?
The age of consent in the state of Washington is 16. This means that under current statute, the adult would not be prosecuted for the sexual offense "Rape of a child" (statutory rape) if engaged in consensual sexual relations with a minor age 16 or 17. Special Circumstance: In Washington the age of consent changes to 18 if the adult perpetrating the sexual relationship is in a position of control or authority over the minor, or a public employee at least 48 months older than the minor; such as a teacher, or employer. All other laws pertaining to minors apply at the age of 16. It is unlawful to contribute to the delinquency of a minor; aid a minor runaway; purchase cigarettes or alcohol etc... It is also not lawful for any adult to transport a minor out of state without parental consent.
Page 1 of 2 | Next >>