Age of Consent Questions for minnesota

Q&A on statutory rape laws, age of consent laws, sexual assault laws for minnesota. Ask your Question

17 and 22

:: June 28, 2007 20:52

what is the law about a 17 and a 22 year old having sex in the state of minnesota?

Under Minnesota law 609.352 Solicitation of children to engage in sexual conduct: The age at which a minor can legally consent to have sexual intercourse is 16. A person 18 years of age or older who solicits a child, (anyone 15 years of age or younger) or someone the person reasonably believes is a child to engage in sexual conduct with intent is guilty of a felony and may be sentenced to imprisonment for not more than three years, or to payment of a fine of not more than $5,000, or both. Mistake as to age is not a defense to a prosecution under this section.

please answer

:: June 27, 2007 20:23

hi i have a ?. my friend is 13 and a guy she likes is 18 they both like each other. they would like to date but they dont know if it is legal to date they are only about 5 years apart and wish to be with each other.what can she do?

The 13 year old must have consent from a parent or guardian. Dating can not include sexual conduct or intercourse. Under Minnesota law 609.352 Solicitation of children to engage in sexual conduct: The age at which a minor can legally consent to have sexual intercourse is 16. A person 18 years of age or older who solicits a child, (anyone 15 years of age or younger) or someone the person reasonably believes is a child to engage in sexual conduct with intent is guilty of a felony and may be sentenced to imprisonment for not more than three years, or to payment of a fine of not more than $5,000, or both. Mistake as to age is not a defense to a prosecution under this section.

legal age for under-age consensual sex

:: April 14, 2007 08:51

What is the legal age to have consensual sex?

Under Minnesota law 609.352 Solicitation of children to engage in sexual conduct: The age at which a minor can legally consent to have sexual intercourse is 16. A person 18 years of age or older who solicits a child, (anyone 15 years of age or younger) or someone the person reasonably believes is a child to engage in sexual conduct with intent is guilty of a felony and may be sentenced to imprisonment for not more than three years, or to payment of a fine of not more than $5,000, or both. Mistake as to age is not a defense to a prosecution under this section.