Saturday November 22, 2014
Age of Consent Questions for South Carolina
Q&A on statutory rape laws, age of consent laws, sexual assault laws for South Carolina. Ask your Question
My boyfriend is 17 years old while I am 15 years old, would it be considered Statutory Rape if we were to do sex? Would it even be Statutory Rape if we just stayed in our relationship but no sexual activity?
If the relationship continues without sexual activity, as long as the parents do not forbid the relationship, there are no laws being violated. If the relationship continues and a sexual act occurs, the 17 year old would be at risk of being found in violation of South Carolina state law.
What is the age of consent for a girl in SC, and what are the laws for 18 year old boy with 16 year old girl?
The age of consent in South Carolina is 16. If an 18 year old has consensual sex with a 16 year old, there would not be sexual offense criminal charges filed against him. There may have been other violations committed that were not sexual in nature, but this would depend on the circumstances.
SECTION 16-15-140. Committing or attempting lewd act upon child under sixteen.It is unlawful for a person over the age of fourteen years to wilfully and lewdly commit or attempt a lewd or lascivious act upon or with the body, or its parts, of a child under the age of sixteen years, with the intent of arousing, appealing to, or gratifying the lust or passions or sexual desires of the person or of the child. A person violating the provisions of this section is guilty of a felony and, upon conviction, must be fined in the discretion of the court or imprisoned not more than fifteen years, or both. South Carolina statute makes it criminal to perpatrate sexual conduct on a minor under the age of 16; however, SC Constitution Article III Legislative Department, SECTION 33. Age of consent. No unmarried woman shall legally consent to sexual intercourse who shall not have attained the age of fourteen years. (1999 Act No. 3, Section 1, eff February 16, 1999)
how long after you have been raped to you have to take a "rape kit" for it to actually be accurate?
The answer to this question would not generally be found in the law; I was able to pull some data on this subject and found that a rape kit is best processed within 48 hours or the rape. However, you should seek out and ask a trauma center doctor and allow them to evaluate the time frame themselves. These doctors are specially trained to see and find sexual trauma. If a lot of time has elapsed check with a rape trauma center and www.RAINN.org for assistance.
SC Age of Consent is 16