Saturday September 20, 2014
Age of Consent Questions for Nevada
Q&A on statutory rape laws, age of consent laws, sexual assault laws for Nevada. Ask your Question
I have a friend who is 16 year old female and i am a 22 year old male. Is there any legal implications there because one of us is over the age of 18? Or 16 the age of consent under all conditions?
The age a person can legally consent to sexual activity in the state of Nevada is 16; however, if the adult involved in the sexual act is 21 years of age or older and is a teacher, instructor, professor, administrator, head coach, assistant coach or in certain positions of authority over the minor at an educational institution, it is a crime to have sexual relations with a student under the age of 18. (Unless they are married) A 16 year old is a "minor" under the laws of the state of Nevada and is under the legal authority of their parent or guardian. There can be other legal risk to adults over the age of 18 who are involved with a minor sexually if the parents pursue legal actions to terminate the relationship.
My friend is 13 and I am 16 and I do not know if their are any legal implacations, if any, to having sex with her. If there are, then what are they?
The legal age of consent to have sexual contact in Nevada is 16. If a 16 year old has sexual relations with a 13 year old, this would be a violation of state law and the 16 year old would be held accountable. The matter would either be heard in family court where you could be charged as a juvenile sex offender and receive punishment or sentencing accordingly; or, the matter would be recommended to be heard in adult court where the 16 year old would be held accountable to the adult system of law but remain in the custody of the juvenile system. Juvenile sex offenders in Nevada go through registration processes similar to adult sex offenders. In some cases, they are certain restrictions on many activities, as well as, attending public schools.
CHAPTER 200 - CRIMES AGAINST THE PERSONNRS 200.368 Statutory sexual seduction: Penalties. Except under circumstances where a greater penalty is provided in NRS 201.540, a person who commits statutory sexual seduction shall be punished: 1. If he is 21 years of age or older, for a category C felony as provided in NRS 193.130. 2. If he is under the age of 21 years, for a gross misdemeanor. (Added to NRS by 1977, 1627; A 1979, 1426; 1995, 1187; 2001, 703)
CHAPTER 194 - PERSONS LIABLE TO PUNISHMENT FOR CRIMENRS 194.010 Persons capable of committing crimes. All persons are liable to punishment except those belonging to the following classes: 1. Children under the age of 8 years. 2. Children between the ages of 8 years and 14 years, in the absence of clear proof that at the time of committing the act charged against them they knew its wrongfulness. 3. Persons who committed the act charged or made the omission charged in a state of insanity. 4. Persons who committed the act or made the omission charged under an ignorance or mistake of fact, which disproves any criminal intent, where a specific intent is required to constitute the offense. 5. Persons who committed the act charged without being conscious thereof. 6. Persons who committed the act or made the omission charged, through misfortune or by accident, when it appears that there was no evil design, intention or culpable negligence. 7. Persons, unless the crime is punishable with death, who committed the act or made the omission charged under threats or menaces sufficient to show that they had reasonable cause to believe, and did believe, their lives would be endangered if they refused, or that they would suffer great bodily harm.
CHAPTER 193 - GENERAL PROVISIONSNRS 193.140 Punishment of gross misdemeanors. Every person convicted of a gross misdemeanor shall be punished by imprisonment in the county jail for not more than 1 year, or by a fine of not more than $2,000, or by both fine and imprisonment, unless the statute in force at the time of commission of such gross misdemeanor prescribed a different penalty.
whats the age that a person can get married also what's the age the other person has to be like if the female is 16 and the male is 19 and if its consensual can the parents do anything like file charges.
If you are 16 or 17 years old, you must have one parent or legal guardian present when getting the marriage license. A notarized written permission is also acceptable. It must be written in English and needs to state the name, birth date, age of the minor child, along with the relationship of the person giving consent. The notary must make a note that the parent or guardian appeared personally before the notary and it must be sworn to. If you are less than 16 years of age, marriage can only be authorized by court order and the request must be filed by either parent or legal guardian.Yes, it is possible for the parents of a 16 year old to take legal action against an adult who is pursuing a sexual relationship with their minor child.
My friend was thinking about dating me, and im 28, and im wondering if in my state thats legal, cause ive heard conflicting reports on it.
The age of consent is 16 in Nevada.
NV Age of Consent is 16