Age of Consent Questions for Hawaii

Q&A on statutory rape laws, age of consent laws, sexual assault laws for Hawaii. Ask your Question

boyfriend/girlfriend

:: June 19, 2007 23:16

What is the age of consent in Hawaii?

The age of consent in Hawaii is 16.

§707-732 Sexual assault in the third degree.
(partial) A person commits the offense of sexual assault in the third degree if the person knowingly engages in sexual contact with a person who is at least fourteen years old but less than sixteen years old provided that the person is not less than five years older than the minor and the person is not legally married to the minor.

14 year old with coach

:: September 01, 2004 02:02

My daughter is 14 and I just found out her coach got her pregnant. He is 45! Is there something I can do to get this pedophile?

Yes you can. He committed first degree sexual assault against your daughter, and can serve sentenced up to 20 years in prison, after which he will rejoin society as a registered sex offender. In addition, you can sue for civil damages against him. Contact your local police, and they can help you from there. One thing to note- the law making this illegal wasn't passed until July 10, 2001. Governor Cayetano vetoed this bill, but it was overridden by the House and Senate