Underage daughter having sex

Arizona

I am a divorced mother of a 15 year old (just 15 in April)daughter. She lives with her father because their are less restrictions with him than with me, and he has allowed her to date a 19 year old boy. I don't agree with his decision. I just found out they have had sex more than once! I have told her and her father this relationship needs to STOP! Father does not agree at this time. What if she becomes pregnant? Do I have the right as a parent to make her have an abortion?

In the state of Arizona, it is a class 6 felony if a 19 year old is convicted of having sexual intercourse or oral sexual contact with any person under the age of 18. The father condoning this activity does not override state law. (Arizona Criminal code below.) You are within your rights as a parent to report the 19 year old to police. It may also be prudent to inquire as to the proper procedure and protocol for petitioning the court for a protective order or restraining order; there may be cause for the court to intervene and stop contact legally between the 19 year old and the 15 year old through a court order. Local procedure for these types of orders vary from jurisdiction to jurisdiction.

No. You do not have the right to make your teenager get an abortion. Except in a medical emergency where the teenager’s life is at risk, no parent or guardian may force a minor to have an abortion. If a teenage girl feels threatened that this may happen, she can go to the court for assistance.

13-1405. Sexual conduct with a minor; classifications

A) A person commits sexual conduct with a minor by intentionally or
knowingly engaging in sexual intercourse or oral sexual contact with
any person who is under eighteen years of age.

B) Sexual conduct with a minor who is under fifteen years of age is a
class 2 felony and is punishable pursuant to section 13-604.01. Sexual
conduct with a minor who is at least fifteen years of age is a class 6
felony. Sexual conduct with a minor who is at least fifteen years of age
is a class 2 felony if the person is the minor's parent, stepparent,
adoptive parent, legal guardian or foster parent and the convicted person
is not eligible for suspension of sentence, probation, pardon or release
from confinement on any basis except as specifically authorized by
section 31-233, subsection A or B until the sentence imposed has been
served or commuted.