Rape law in Arizona

Arizona

when does the statue of limitations expire on a Sexual Assault of a child under 12

Criminal Prosecutions
Citation: Rev. Stat. § 13-107

There is no statute of limitations for:

  • Violent sexual assault committed by a convicted felony sexual offender
  • Sexual conduct with a minor who is under 15 years of age
  • Sexual assault
  • Molestation of a child
  • Continuous sexual abuse of a child (three or more incidents of abuse)
  • Commercial sexual exploitation of a minor
  • Sexual exploitation of a minor

Generally, the statute of limitations for a class 2 through 6 felony is a period of 7 years. Crimes classified as class 2 through class 6 felonies include:

  • Child abuse
  • Aggravated domestic violence against a child
  • Public sexual indecency to a minor
  • Sexual abuse of a minor
  • Indecent exposure to a minor under 15 years of age
  • Sexual conduct with a minor at least 15 years of age
  • Luring a minor for sexual exploitation
  • Admitting minors to public displays of sexual conduct

Generally, the statute of limitations for a misdemeanor is a period of 1 year.

Civil Actions
Citation: Rev. Stat. §§ 12-502; 12-511; 12-542; 12-550

The statute of limitations will not begin for a minor entitled to bring a claim until he or she reaches 18 years of age. At that time, the limitations period prescribed for the claim’s offense begins.